Guest Blogger: Marty’s Flying Review – Quorn’s New Vegan Burgers … where’s the beef … or what?

5 Mar

Please welcome back our favourite flying vegan pilot Marty!

Alright, it’s a bit out of sequence but in Tampa today I picked up a few things from Whole Foods and while shopping for my Amy’s products I found this:

So like, WHOA!!!  All the rage right?  So like, I pick up a box, there are 4 in the box by the way, and can’t wait for dinner tonight.  They are a bit small sitting atop Arnolds Deli Multi Grain Sandwich thins, (seems to be vegan), under some Daiya cheese, (seems to be vegan), under a handful of organic mixed greens, (I’d think vegan too, no?), and I’m delighted at the smoky burger-y taste.  Since I was old enough to read, or eat cereal, whichever came first, or becoming a vegan, (now I’m not really sure which came first if I throw that in the mix), I have picked up the habit of reading boxes and ingredient lists.  And and and I come across this on the Quorn Vegan Burgers box:

Now I am not a nutritionist by license or course of study but I have read more than a shelf load of books about nutrition and diet and agriculture and the food supply and I can’t for the life of me figure out what PLANT BASED INGREDIENT CHOLESTEROL CAN COME FROM.  (caps off).

So I’m going to write to Quorn but for now my eyebrow is up.  (Not a unibrow, just one of them in a skeptical sort of look).  If anyone knows the answer to this conundrum, please chime right in.

Marty

Whoopsie, it was a misprint.

Nothing to make a big bruhaha about. Still, had my heart skip a beat when I first saw it!
Heres the response:

[Thank you for contacting us regarding the nutritional information on the Quorn Vegan Burger packaging.

The value for Cholesterol should be 0mg.

This is an error on the packaging. We will have this amended on the the next print run.

Please know we will mail out coupons with our compliments.

Once again, thank you very much for taking the time to contact us

Assuring you of our best attentions at all times]

Ok, that’s it from Quorn but I think maybe when the boxes went to print the weren’t giving it their “best attentions,” although I never heard that turn of phrase before. I’m going to use it though. I’ll probably use a Cockney accent too, “Right Right.”

Anyway, I do think this is one of the better tasting burgers.  I prefer mine a little heartier and thicker and richer, (and truth be told a little moister), but I’ve been eating mine in hotel rooms using microwaves and a cold pack in my cooler.  Really battlefield, (ok, no bullets are flying but you have to give me road warrior), conditions.
If they’re giving out free coupons, ask for one and give them a try.
2 Responses to “Guest Blogger: Marty’s Flying Review – Quorn’s New Vegan Burgers … where’s the beef … or what?”

  1. The Savvy Sister March 5, 2012 at 9:54 am #

    Hmmmm…….didn’t catch a cholesterol content on the packaging? Do you know how many eyes see that before printing? Your question may just have forced them to re-formulate. Nice catch!

  2. mskristiina March 5, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

    Any idea if these are GF?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,427 other followers

