Guest Blogger: Grow it Kindly

16 May

Please meet a new blogger to join the VBU guest blogger ranks, Stephanie from Grow It Kindly, here she is in her own words, “My name is Stephanie, and I moved from San Francisco to Grass Valley, CA in March of 2012 to live with my partner at Animal Place, a sanctuary for farmed animals. I have volunteered the rest of this year to expanding the veganic garden at the sanctuary into a model micro-farm for growing food kindly – kind to the earth, kind to the animals, and to the community of people we hope to reach and engage through this project.” Connect with Stephanie on Facebook. Please welcome Stephanie!

As a new activist, I am still experimenting with how to most effectively speak up for animals. I recently learned, secondhand, that my remarks about [the journey of] going vegan were perceived as chastising. This was not my intent, and clearly, I need to work on refining my message. If only I’d begun all of this sooner.

A dozen years ago, I hosted a dinner party for a circle of friends and one apologetic vegetarian. Annoyed that the latter had messed up the evening’s menu, I remember muttering to my then-partner, “I could never date a vegetarian”. How does one go from staunch omnivore to vegan activist? It didn’t happen with the snap of fingers. But it could have.

As I learned more about nutrition, I made small adjustments to my diet over the decade that followed. No red meat. Less dairy. Cage-free eggs. Organic. Local. When I heard reports about the environmental destruction caused by animal agriculture, I may have even patted myself on the back; after all, I wasn’t eating cheeseburgers anymore.

It wasn’t until I attended a passionate speech by activist Colleen Patrick-Goudreau in 2009 that I took a hard look at the torture I was putting on my fork. She spoke of the rape and slavery of dairy cows, the cruelty of egg production, the purging of our oceans and other horrific truths about eating animals. With great skill, she told the hard-line truth. It broke my heart enough to also break down all of my defenses. In a snap, I went vegan.

The truth about animal agriculture hurts, and most people don’t want to accept it. We get defensive about our past and present actions. It is less painful to buy into the message from

Douglas and Linus, two male “discards” from the dairy industry, were bottle-fed in the barn and pasture beside the micro-farm.

popular authors like Michael Pollan; it’s OK to kill animals and the planet, as long as you don’t do it too often. Even better if it’s local. Attached as we are to the prevalent culture and comforts of certain foods, we resist making changes that may seem overwhelming. We don’t know how to prepare vegan food. Many people worry about protein. We imagine the awkwardness that our new veganism may inspire in social situations.

There are so many excuses for not doing the right thing. For this reason, I believe that it usually takes more than opening someone’s mind. In my own personal experience, an open mind put me on the path of baby steps for a decade. In order to make urgent, meaningful and necessary change, a heart must break. I wish that I had crossed paths with a hard-line, truth-telling activist earlier.

The talented and eloquent Colleen reaches audiences nation-wide through public speaking, podcasts, articles, and most famously through her beautiful cookbooks, such as The Vegan Table and The 30-Day Vegan Challenge. At Animal Place, my internship in the veganic micro-farm gives me the opportunity to be truthful with volunteers, visitors and people in the community who are curious about what I am doing. This is my venue to – as best as I can – speak up for animals.

Our model farm is not isolated from the rest of the sanctuary. One can see and hear the animals while tending to the tomatoes, and it is important to relate the stark differences in our cruelty-free farming practices in contrast to how food is produced in animal-based systems. Most not-yet-vegan inquiries are polite. When others respond defensively or not at all, uneasiness hangs heavy in the air. Now what? Well, at least they will leave with that dis-ease in their minds, and perhaps that feeling will sink down into their heart someday. Perhaps this is better, even, than polite.

I’ve yet to break any hearts, but I’ll keep on trying.

3 Responses to “Guest Blogger: Grow it Kindly”

  1. vegansparkles May 16, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    Brilliantly written! Bravo, Stephanie. xx

  2. An Unrefined Vegan May 16, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    So many great points – they ring so true to my experiences and I’ll bet to many vegans out there. Nice to meet you, Stephanie!

  3. iatelunch May 16, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

    Such beautiful writing! Thanks so much for sharing your story. I love Colleen’s book, The Vegan’s Daily Companion. It’s nice to remind yourself of what you’re doing and why you do it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,425 other followers

