Guest Blogger: Vegan Weight Watchers

11 Jun

As the saying goes, “there’s an app for that”, in my opinion, there’s always a blog for whatever your interests are. Emilee, editor of Vegan Weight Watchers proves just that. You can be vegan and be mindful of your weight while on the program. Here she is in her own words, “Editor of the Vegan Weight Watchers blog! I add multiple posts each week specifically written for people using the Weight Watchers program to lose or maintain weight while following a vegan lifestyle. Posts include PointsPlus friendly vegan recipes, product and restaurant reviews, as well as interesting vegan tidbits from around the world and across the web.” Please follow Vegan Weight Watchers on Twitter; please welcome Emilee!

My story:
My journey with Weight Watchers started in June 2009. I lost 25 lbs and became a lifetime member that October. I have since been able to maintain my weight loss while sticking to the Weight Watchers program.

My husband has struggled with gastrointestinal discomfort since we met in 2003. Following an endoscopy, no diagnosis was reached for my husband, and I was shocked when his doctor said he would be on medication indefinitely. After watching several documentaries and doing research online, I proposed trying out a vegan lifestyle (which almost instantly cured his lifelong stomach issues). Due to my experience with the Weight Watchers program, I knew I would have to be careful to stick to my daily PointsPlus values – it is a popular misconception that vegans only eat lettuce and are rail thin. However, I was disappointed about the lack of resources online for fellow Vegan Weight Watchers.

With this blog, I hope to help keep others’ weight loss journeys interesting while sticking to a plant-based vegan lifestyle.

In our family, and amongst our circle of friends, my husband and I are the only people who practice a vegan lifestyle. The question “Where do get your protein from?” comes up on a regular basis so I wanted to share a few low Weight Watchers PointsPlus sources of protein that we incorporate into our diet. Please keep in mind this is a SHORT list of the protein content of select vegan foods — and yes protein does come from sources other than meat and dairy!

To put some context around the numbers below, the average female should be getting between 37-50 grams of protein each day. The average for a male is just a bit higher from between 48-63 grams per day. You can find more information on this here.
As you can see, by eating a variety of vegetables, beans, legumes, grains and nuts it is very easy to meet the daily protein requirement.

vegan weight watchers protein sources

For a more extensive list of plant-based foods that provide protein visit: Protein in the Vegan Diet
Be kind, feel good.
Em

One Response to “Guest Blogger: Vegan Weight Watchers”

  1. the Diet Patch April 23, 2013 at 10:10 am #

    I absolutely love your site.. Pleasant colors & theme.

    Did you create this amazing site yourself? Please reply back as I’m hoping to create my own blog and would like to learn where you got this from or exactly what the theme is called. Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,427 other followers

