Guest Blogger: black. female. christian. vegan. – Giving up on Veganism

13 Aug

This is an unique first guest blogger post from Valerie, author of black. female. christian. vegan. blog. Here she is in her own words, “Vegan mom of four grown kids and one very cool six year old boy. I went vegetarian way back in the Spring of 1990 and vegan in 2007. My choice to go vegan came as a result of great authors and podcasters who ripped the lid off of the cruelty involved in all animal products. This affected me both spiritually and emotionally as I realized I could no longer call myself a follower of Jesus while continuing to be a part of such horrible treatment of His creatures.” You can find more about on Twitter and through her blog. Please welcome Valerie!

So I recently checked in to one of my favorite vegan cooking blogs to discover that the author is no longer vegan. Several life changes brought them to their current path including a new relationship, working around animal products and of course, the love of cheese.  Also, another reason(probably the main one) cited for giving up the vegan life was just coming to a point of being jaded about life on this planet.

There’s so much suffering around that apparently it became too overwhelming to think that they could really do anything about it by continuing to refuse the consumption of animal products.

This really got me thinking.  I wonder how the abolitionists of the nineteenth century felt when they saw around them what appeared to be the irreversible suffering of slavery. Or the men and women in the Suffrage movement who fought for women’s right to vote?  Or those in the modern civil rights movement like Martin Luther King Jr and others?  Or Mildred and Richard Loving?   I wonder what my life would be like today if they had given up? 

If they(heroes and agents of God in my opinion) had grown weary of the fight, where would I be today?  Would I still be a slave on some plantation in Georgia somewhere? Maybe.  And I most assuredly wouldn’t be voting in the next election or married to my husband of almost 9 years.  And speaking of voting..  

Would we ever have had a black(or biracial) president in the White House right now?  Or possibly a woman in the near future?

I admit, I felt a bit sad when I read that blog post. Especially when I just came off the heels of watching a new documentary that shows family farmers, not big impersonal agribusiness, coming to a point of no longer wanting to participate in the cruelty and suffering that is inherent in animal production.  

But I do understand feeling overwhelmed, so I’m not judging my fellow blogger. I will not unsubscribe from their blog  or Facebook page as some have posted. (after making all kinds of declarations of how selfish they feel the blogger is now)   That’s something I have noticed in this vegan world online.

When you “leave the fold” so to speak, there is sometimes quite a backlash. And it can get nasty.   But I think I understand that too.  I mean, if we were living in nineteenth century America and someone who was once a fierce abolitionist, fought tooth and nail for freedom for blacks and then decided that it was just too overwhelming and decided to give up and in fact buy themselves a few people to work their farm and as a bonus satisfy their “night time needs” , I would imagine others in the movement would feel a bit betrayed, including their new slaves.

Do I hope the blogger becomes vegan again?  By all means yes!   I honestly hope this is a temporary season in their life and at some point the eyes of their heart will open again and believe that they indeed can make a difference.  

Just like the social justice struggles of the past and present, they depend on enough of us to care and never give up.


What do you think?


2 Responses to “Guest Blogger: black. female. christian. vegan. – Giving up on Veganism”

  1. Kylie August 13, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    This is really insightful and very well-written. It’s hard to understand why anybody would “go back” but I think we all just need to make the best choices we can for ourselves and our families.

  2. Kinenchen August 14, 2012 at 9:28 am #

    Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,284 other followers

