Guest Blogger: Vegan Masquerade – Maesri Curry Recipe

15 Aug

We love when bloggers come back for more guest posts. Here is the lovely Marissa living in North Dakota with her husband and two guinea pigs named Sage & Basil. You can enjoy her pervious post here. Keep up with her blog Vegan Masquerade via: Twitter, and the blog itself. Welcome back Marissa!

Disclaimer – This is my friend Brian’s recipe. @BrianLoeb on twitter. We went vegan within a week of each other. He’s pretty much pure awesome.

Ingredients:

(2) 19-oz cans of coconut milk + 1/2 can water

(1) can Maesri Prik Khing Curry Paste

(1) tsp. cayenne pepper [more or less/this stuff ishot]

A few shakes dried mint leaves -(or)- 3-4 fresh mint leaves

(1) c. spinach

(1) c. mushrooms

(1) c. zucchini

(1) block of tofu – drained & cubed

A giant pot of brown rice

Start by bringing the cans of coconut milk to a boil [I kept the heat on medium high] – stirring frequently. I couldn’t find 19-oz cans so I bought three 14-oz cans and made it work.

Once the coconut milk is boiling, add the entire can of curry paste. Stir until dissolved.

Once the liquid is blended, stir in the spices. Warning – watch out with that cayenne. I think I added a bit more than a teaspoon and my mouth regretted it later. Less.Is.More. If you use fresh mint leaves, make sure you remove them before serving.

You could really use any veggies that you have lying around. I have a bunch of zucchini lying around that I haven’t figured out what to do with yet so I threw a cup of those in there.

Mushrooms – which I did saute first in some olive oil.

Spinach – which you can either throw in the pot and let it wilt… or lay a bed on the rice to help retain some of it’s nutrients.

Finally, tofu – which for me, is a must for curry.

Let everything simmer at a medium heat until heated through and the tofu has sucked in the curry-flavor.

With this much coconut milk, it will be a soupy-consistancy. Serve hot over brown rice. This makes a lot – and is even better leftover.

Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Guest Blogger: Vegan Masquerade – Maesri Curry Recipe”

  1. Val August 15, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    Wow, this looks delicious! I love myself some curry.:-)

  2. An Unrefined Vegan August 15, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    Beautiful photos!! I looooove curry!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,363 other followers

