Guest Blogger: Earth Friendly Sara – Rueben Rolls

3 Oct

Please welcome our newest addition to the VBU! family, please welcome Sara, author of Earth Friendly Sara. Here she is in her own words, “My name is Sara. I have a vegan blog called Earth Friendly Sara. Mostly it is full of vegan recipes. I also have some tips on how to be as earth friendly as possible, recycling, composting, natural gardening, etc. I make my own home-made vegan soap and share a little about that on my blog as well. I also share most of this and more information on my facebook page Sara King-Mullenix.” Let’s make Sara feel welcomed. Please feel free to be friendly on Facebook, check out her blog and twitter account. Welcome Sara!


I adapted this recipe from Spabettie.com The recipe called for frying and I try to not fry anything. So I adjusted the recipe so I could bake them. They are still wonderful. I can always tell when my husband really like something because his first words after his first bite will be “this is a repeat”. I can testify that these rolls are delicious and he called for a repeat as well. So you really should try them.
Ingredients for rolls
1 can chickpeas, drained and peeled
1/2 cup thousand island dressing
1/2 sweet onion, caramelized
1/2 cup shredded daiya cheese
1 large dill pickle, cut into strips
4 vegan tortilla shells
Cooking spray
Ingredients for vegan thousand island dressing
1/2 cup mayonnaise (vegan)
1/3 cup ketchup
1/4 cup dill pickle juice
1 dill pickle, finely chopped
1/3 red bell pepper, finely chopped
1 tablespoon tomato paste
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon raw sugar

Mash chickpeas, combine with half of the thousand island dressing, set aside to ‘marinate’ (I made this and refrigerated it while I prepped the remaining ingredients). Caramelize the onion in approximately one tablespoon of evoo.

To assemble the rolls. Place one tortilla shell on a flat surface and place approximately 1/4 of the chickpea mixture onto the shell, top with 1/4 of the caramelized onion, 1/4 of the chopped pickle and 1/4 of the Daiya cheese. Fold two opposite sides in then roll as you would a burrito. Place onto a greased baking sheet and mist with cooking spray. Continue until you have all four wraps on the baking sheet. Cook at 425 degrees for 20 minutes. The wraps should be crispy and brown. Top with the remaining thousand island dressing and enjoy.

2 Responses to “Guest Blogger: Earth Friendly Sara – Rueben Rolls”

  1. An Unrefined Vegan October 3, 2012 at 10:48 am #

    Want to dive right into those! My husband says something similar when the meal is extra-special good: “This one’s a keeper.” I’m always hoping to hear those words. Hi, Sara!

  2. Allison (Spontaneous Tomato) November 16, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

    I love this creative way to serve chickpeas! (And your vegan thousand island dressing sounds way better than non-vegan thousand island dressing; I’d like to try it!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,754 other followers

