Guest Blogger: Fried Tofu – Vegan Bolognese Sauce

17 Oct

New bloggers almost every day! Thank you everyone for coming together, this is exactly what VBU! is all about – yay us!

 

Please meet Susan, blogger of Fried Tofu. Here she is in her own words.

Susan

“Hello, my name is Susan. I reside in Chicago, IL with my husband and my dog. I once was a competitive swimmer, turned runner (2 marathons, check!), turned corporate professional, turned wine-o (due to the job), turned Vegan, turned blogger. I am type A, but my husband and best friend (Morgan, my fellow blogger) do a great job of balancing me out. I love to travel. I grew up with two supportive parents and two uniquely awesome sisters. I ride my bike to work (almost) everyday. I have a strange obsession with air planes and still find air travel to be an amazing feat. If I’m not in my kitchen, you can find me at a concert.

Fried Tofu is a blog about two friends with different views on food, coming together on one blog. Susan, the Vegan, Morgan, the not-so-Vegan, working to share recipes, travel experiences, totally awesome products and much more. The main focus is recipe Face Offs, where we put our own spin on one dish. Morgan makes a non-Vegan dish and I Veganize it. We post a Recipe Face Off every 2 weeks.” Please follow Susan and her adventures on her blog, Facebook and Twitter. Welcome Susan!

I made a “real” bolognese sauce about 6 or 7 years ago that my husband went crazy over. I never wrote down the recipe and of course I could never repeat what I had created the first time around. I like to believe that the Vegan Gods were the cause of my forgetfulness. Well Seitan, you won…

The Chicago Marathon was held this past weekend on Sunday, October 7th. I ventured out on my bike at 8:30am to cheer for my friend Jami as well as all the runners who spent months preparing for the 26.2 miles. They ended up with great running weather – it was 40 degrees when I woke up that morning and it only broke 50 degrees in the afternoon. One could argue it was a little too chilly – as you can see I was handing out tissues to runners instead of water.

What goes hand and hand with distance running? Carbo-loading of course – something I am all too familiar with as an athlete. When I was a swimmer I looked forward to our team pasta parties held the night before a big swim meet. As runners, my husband and I would eat pasta (more often than we should) to get our calories back after a long training run. I do like pasta, however I enjoy it in moderation now.

The 2012 Chicago Marathon inspired me to go home and carbo-load for dinner. It was a bit chilly out, so I was in the mood for a hearty sauce to top off my linguine. Bolognese was the heartiest I could think of, so, I created my Vegan Bolognese sauce. Bolognese typically means a meat sauce, but my protein of choice was Gimme Lean Ground Beef. To give my sauce a ragù consistency I used my food processor and my immersion blender.

Vegan Bolognese

Serves 8

2 Carrots peeled
4 stalks of Celery
1 Yellow Onion
3 cloves of Garlic
2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
14 ounces Gimme Lean Ground Beef
1 Cup Red Wine
2 (14.5 ounce) cans of Crushed Tomatoes
1 (15 ounce) can of Tomato Sauce
1 1/2 Tablespoons of dried Basil, Oregano and Thyme
1 teaspoon dried Bay Leaves or 1 whole Bay Leaf
Salt
Red Pepper
1 Cup Unsweetened Soy Milk, room temperature

  1. In a food processor combine garlic, carrots, celery and onion into a paste.
  2. Heat olive oil in a large stock pot on Medium-High heat.
  3. Add carrot mixture and cook for 10-15 minutes, until liquid evaporates.
  4. Add your protein of choice and cook until heated through, about 5 minutes.
  5. Add Red Wine and reduce down.
  6. Add crushed tomatoes, tomato sauce and dried seasonings. Stir and cook, covered, on Medium heat for 20-30 minutes to combine flavors.
  7. Decrease heat to low and add Salt and Red Pepper to taste.
  8. Stir in Soy Milk
  9. Serve over pasta of choice or freeze for later use.

Note: I did not have crushed tomatoes on hand, so I used diced tomatoes instead. I then used my immersion blender just after adding the tomatoes.

3 Responses to “Guest Blogger: Fried Tofu – Vegan Bolognese Sauce”

  1. An Unrefined Vegan October 17, 2012 at 10:33 am #

    Looks hearty and delish! Back in the day I loved a good Bolognese – can’t wait to try this!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vegan Bolognese | Fried Tofu - October 18, 2012

    [...] Recipe Featured on Vegan Bloggers Unite! Share this:Like this:Like3 bloggers like this. Tags: Bolognese, dairy free, Dinner, Italian, Pasta, Vegan From: Dairy Free, Dinner, Entree, Vegan ← Homemade Garlic Salt Fall Farmers Market – Daley Plaza, Chicago → No comments yet [...]

  2. | Fried Tofu - October 19, 2012

    [...] Vegan Bolognese recipe was recently featured on Vegan Bloggers Unite!  I was so excited to see my post, my bio and [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,613 other followers

