Guest Blogger: OMGosh I’m Vegan – Vegano Cubano Sandwich

19 Nov

Happy Monday everyone! Hope you’re starting off the week great. Here’s a post from one of the Virtual Vegan Potluck contributors – Galen of OMGosh I’m Vegan. Here’s Galen in her own words, “My name is Galen and I’m AHmazing! Haha, but really — I love to cook, bake, and share your treats with friends, coworkers and loved ones. I also enjoy taking vegan cooking classes and going on adventures!” Visit OMGosh I’m Vegan via blog and follow Galen on Twitter. Welcome Galen!

Just when you think I’ll zig I zag.  Oh so tricky.  I decided to make the real deal and have a proper Cubano Vegano!  Thanks again to Mandee of Cupcake Kitteh for the inspiration.  The cubano vegano sandwich is from Viva Vegan!.

Ready to eat

I made white seitan and while it tasted great I think something went wrong.  It didn’t really expand much from the original size. Next time I’ll boil it instead of steaming as that sounds like it works for this recipe too.  After the seitan was done and cool down I sliced it into thin pieces.  Then put it in this amazing citrus marinade.  Wow to die for!  And baked it in the oven for a bit.

Ready to grill

This just kicked the seitan up a notch.  What remained of the marinade was put on my sandwich with lots of other goodies.  A few minutes in the panini press and I was good to go.  I don’t know that I have the words to properly describe this sandwich.  It is easily my favorite sandwich now!

What have you made from Viva Vegan?  Favorite recipe?  Is it sad that as I look at these pictures I’m drooling just a little and wishing I had another sandwich?  Don’t judge!
Happy MoFoing!

One Response to “Guest Blogger: OMGosh I’m Vegan – Vegano Cubano Sandwich”

  1. An Unrefined Vegan November 19, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

    Viva Vegan is a great cookbook – but why haven’t I made this sandwich ;-)?? I love the spicy chorizo. Definitely AHmazing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,918 other followers

