Guest Blogger: ZenFans – Delicious and Nutritious Green Bowl

3 Mar

Ted from ZenFans is back! You may remember Ted from his first post called Kale Almighty. Check out his newest obsession – Green Bowls! Follow ZenFans on social media channels: TwitterFacebookPinterest and Instagram. Welcome back Ted!

greenbowl

Green bowls are my latest obsession, I’ve been making them almost daily now for the past few months. It’s super healthy and super delicious, I know this because even my 3 year old loves it. We’ll often have it for breakfast and even as an after dinner dessert. Salad for breakfast and dessert, who’d a thunk it?

green bowl for the family

I’m not sure where I originally saw this done (sorry for not giving credit where credit is truly due…found it, see below). No, I wasn’t creative enough to come up with this on my own, but I am happy I stumbled upon it and happy to share it with you now.

EDITED: I have seen many green bowl recipes, but I was originally inspired by Mckel Hill at NutritionStripped.com. Her recipe can be found here. I love her blog with so many great, healthy recipes and beautiful photographs to entice you!

So grab these items, (organic of course), start blending and be prepared to be swept off your feet:)

Big handful of kale
Big handful of romaine
Big handful of spinach
2 or 3 stalks of celery
1 big apple
1/2 cucumber
Juice of one lemon
A splash or two of coconut water
Blend on high for a minute or so, then…
Add several ice cubes and one or two frozen bananas
Blend on high until mixture has an ice cream consistency (if too soft, add more ice cubes and/or frozen bananas)

Pour into your bowls
Top with your favorite superfoods, I use:
Nature’s Path Coconut Chia Granola
Goji Berries
Cacao Nibs
Unsweetened Shredded Coconut
Chia Seeds

What will you add?

Let me know how you and your family like it. Wishing you well on your journey to awesome health and vitality!

Peace,

Ted

4 Responses to “Guest Blogger: ZenFans – Delicious and Nutritious Green Bowl”

  1. Laura March 3, 2014 at 9:37 am #

    I love all of the colors in this – looks so amazing!

  2. janecleanfourteen March 3, 2014 at 10:22 am #

    a big gorgeous bowl of life power! thank you!

  3. An Unrefined Vegan March 4, 2014 at 9:38 am #

    How pretty! Thanks for sharing!

  4. l1brarygrl March 24, 2014 at 2:01 am #

    Reblogged this on The 43 Year Old Vegan.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,429 other followers

