Guest Blogger: RanVeganess

30 Jan

Glad to showcase a new vegan blogger, Catherine, who writes RanVeganess. She wrote a bio in her own words.

Little Bio: I started this blog out of pure fun for the New Year, but wanted to give it a purpose…veganism. So it’s vegan randomness (on a random basis) by a vegan aka veganess. ūüôā RanVeganess = Vegan Randomness and Veganess itself is a female vegan. My friend teased and said vegan goddess.

Please welcome Catherine!

So about a month ago, I was really craving for some cinnamon rolls. ¬†I went through several recipes that I had printed out and recipes online. ¬†I tried a few, but they just weren’t right. ¬†They were either too dry, too many ingredients, or too much time (waiting for the dough to rise). ¬† I am the type of person who likes simple baking that I can do and eat at the very thought. ¬†So I looked at the ingredients and read through the recipes to get a feel, so I can create my own recipe. ¬†It took a lot of trial and era, which was fine because my son and I have quite the sweet tooth. ¬†We ate a whole lot of rolls that I’m done for a while. ¬†I actually made a batch today, so I could take a picture of the outcome.

One thing to note, my rolls do not have icing and there is whole wheat flour in them. ¬†The no icing thing was actually an accident because I kept forgetting to buy confectioner’s sugar, so the experiments didn’t have icing. ¬†I figure whole wheat and no icing makes them a tad “healthier”…right? ¬†Haha…not so, but at the end I had enough sugar to satisfy my sweet tooth for a while.

Ingredients
1/4 cup of Warm Water
1/2 tsp of Active Dry Yeast
1 cup of Whole Wheat Flour
1 cup of Unbleached All Purpose Flour
4 tsp of Baking Powder
4 Tbsp of Vegan Butter
1/2 cup of Soy Milk
A few drops of oil for coating
2 Tsp of Melted Vegan Butter
3/4 cup of ¬†Golden Brown Sugar (or 1/2 cup dark brown sugar with 1/4 cup sugar…vegan, of course)
1 Tbsp of Cinnamon

Preparation
Sprinkle yeast over the warm water in a small bowl.

In a large bowl, put the two flours, baking powder and butter in.  With a hand blender (not mixer) or your fingers, work the butter in the dry mixture.  Pour the water with the yeast into the bowl and work it into the mixture. Next, add the soy milk into the bowl and work the dough to form a cohesive ball.  Then coat the ball with a few drops of oil.  Set it aside for 30 minutes.  Note: The yeast is not enough to fully proof the dough.  The purpose is for the rolls to be soft and moist.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. After 30 minutes, punch the dough then transfer it to a floured surface.  Roll it out into a long rectangle.  Spread the melted butter over the surface.  Then spread the brown sugar/cinnamon mixture (I premixed it in a small bowl with a fork.) over the surface.

Then from the length, roll it tightly. ¬†Cut the roll into 1 inch slices. ¬†It should make 16-18 small rolls. ¬†Put them into a greased pan. I usually space them out , but for today’s batch, I set them together. ¬†Bake them for 15 minutes or until golden brown. ¬†Let cool and enjoy!¬†‚ô•

4 Responses to “Guest Blogger: RanVeganess”

  1. awsm789 January 31, 2012 at 1:02 am #

    what a healthier alternative! love that you used whole wheat instead of white flour and no icing! do you think almond butter would be a more nutritious alternative to an icing of confectioner’s sugar? definitely can’t wait to try this out. ūüôā

    • Catherine February 2, 2012 at 1:43 am #

      You got me at the almond butter. Yum!

  2. cameraphonevegan February 2, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

    these look awesome!

    • Catherine February 3, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

      Thanks! I must say…your Nachos look delish!

Leave a Reply

