Guest Blogger: Air Eater

2 Mar

This is what happens when I don’t get enough guest bloggers, I have to post my own. Please feel free to submit your HTML!

I decided to try my hand at making ravioli with fresh coconut meat. I figured this would dehydrate nicely and be adaptable to a savoury dish. What’s ravioli without ‘cheese’? I also made a cashew cream cheese that really complimented the coconut: soaked cashews, 1/4 cup of coconut water, 1.5 tbsp minced garlic, a pinch of salt, a bit of fresh basil and blended it up. Worked like a charm.

If you’ve never opened a young thai coconut, I do suggest you check out a few videos as there is really easy way to do so. Plus, you might want to have a hacking knife and not ruin your nice chopping knives.

Once I extracted the coconut meat I cleaned if off with purified water to remove any of the inner shell. I just scraped it with a spoon, but you can buy fancy coconut scrapers if you’re going to be doing this often. Then I added 2 tbsp of the coconut water into a blender with the meat and set the machine to puree. That done, I spread the mixture onto a Teflex sheet, making sure to keep the height at 1/4″. Then I set the dehydrator to 115F for 6 hours and came to check in on it. I did flip it after I found it to be stiff enough to do so and then put it back in for another 6 hours.

When it was done I was able to literally cut the ravioli square with kitchen scissors.

I spiralized some zucchini and made a marinara sauce from a recipe on Give it to me Raw. Then sandwiched the raw cashew spread in between two pieces of dehydrated coconut. It was delicious and I hope you do take the time to make this.

Happy eating!

2 Responses to “Guest Blogger: Air Eater”

  1. An Unrefined Vegan March 2, 2012 at 10:27 am #

    Gorgeous!

  2. mskristiina March 5, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    Love it!

Leave a Reply

