Guest Blogger: Tia Tofu – Home Made Frappuccino Vegan Style

21 Mar

Please welcome Tia, blogger of Tia Tofu, with her wonderful post of how to save money by making your own fancy coffee house drink. Tia has been vegan for 9 years and blogs about recipes and money-saving deals. She has a “blog” section on her site where she reviews products and hosts give-aways. She is a mother of a young daughter and 3 kitty babies. Please welcome Tia!

***The venti Starbucks Coffee Frappuccino has 310-350 calories according to their website, depending on which milk is used. This recipe is for TWO large frappuccinos. If you only want to make one, just cut the recipe in half. My blender tends to work better with more in it, so I always make the recipe as is. It has a very coffee-y taste… when I order lattes or frappuccinos from Starbucks, I always get 2 extra shots of espresso because I want to be able to taste the coffee. If you prefer less of the coffee taste, then use less of the instant coffee. This drink is only 30 calories per serving, however, adding soy whip and chocolate syrup will add more calories. Almond milk is my favorite non-dairy milk. When you get it unsweetened, it’s very low-calorie compared to other milks. One cup of unsweetened almond milk typically contains just 40 calories (compared to the calories in one cup of cow’s milk: 150-whole milk, 120-2% milk, 100-1% milk, and 80-skim milk). And if you use the new So Delicious Unsweetened Almond Plus, the nutritional label is very impressive. For those of you who are concerned with getting enough vitamin B12… there is 50% of the DV in one cup! My original recipe for this homemade frappuccino had 3 tablespoons of sugar in it… way too much sugar and 135 unnecessary calories. It was good, but I didn’t want to post a drink recipe with so much added sugar. Then I found NuNaturals– I love this stevia! Stevia is a natural sweetener that has zero calories and doesn’t have any sugar in it. I tried the recipe with several of their products over the last week, and the NoCarbs blend tasted the best in this frappuccino. In addition to the NoCarbs blend, I sometimes add 1/4 dropper-full of their NuNaturals Pure Liquid Vanilla Stevia. I love being able to enjoy a frappuccino without the guilt of consuming so many empty calories! [amd-zlrecipe-recipe:19]

2 Responses to “Guest Blogger: Tia Tofu – Home Made Frappuccino Vegan Style”

  1. An Unrefined Vegan March 21, 2012 at 10:07 am #

    Sounds delish! Love that you use stevia – my favorite sweetener!

  2. My Plant Based Family March 21, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

    I’ll have to give this a try. I haven’t tried that brand of Stevia. It seems like I can handle it better in some things than others though. I’ve been on a coffee kick so I’ll make this soon.

Leave a Reply

