Guest Blogger: A House Full of Health

3 Apr

Marsha, a first time guest blogger and new vegan has been kind enough to share her story with us. Her blog, A House Full of Health, is lovely and her story is touching.  I really love how she has made a change in her life and saved herself from bad health. Here is a bit of her story in her own words. Like her Facebook page here. Connect with Marsha on Twitter here. Please welcome Marsha!

“I was told for many years I would never lower my cholesterol because of familial ties. I exercised, ate well (or so I thought!) but still nothing. On top of high cholesterol I suffered from migraines! Oh the pain. I had a neurologist (really, save my life) tell me to stop eating MSG and it’s derivatives. Who knew, right? Fast forward to a year ago when I had my daughter. We soon found that screaming in the middle of the night meant something, what? Well, we found she was sensitive to the dairy I was eating.

I guess what I’m trying to say is, I’ve been at some sort of transformation for a long time. From cutting out processed foods nearly 10 years ago to cutting out dairy, one year ago. To today, no meat or dairy for 3 months now!

Because I hear that being vegan is “boring,” I decided to document what it is we vegans eat because let’s face it, we eat some darn good food! By no means is my food boring. Well, I’m new to blogging, new to being vegan and I’m just trying whatever it is that I can. Someday I’d like to write a cookbook. I’m a wife, a mother, and I work full time so it will definitely take some time. I enjoy food (enough so, I went to culinary school a few years back) and I love trying new things. Here’s to the bacon queen turned kale queen. Cheers and happy eating!”

I’m not a huge mushroom fan. Never have been. I believe I get it from my dad, we both agree that although they add great flavor to a dish eating them is quite gross. I think it’s a texture thing. Do you have any weird texture/food dislikes? I don’t like cake, imagine that!

But, I was looking through my new cookbook, Let Them Eat Vegan!: 200 Deliciously Satisfying Plant-Powered Recipes for the Whole Family and found a recipe for grilled portobella mushrooms. Why not give it a try, right?

I marinated them in olive oil and balsamic vinegar with garlic, salt and pepper for about an hour. The hubby grilled it up about 4-7 minutes per side. To add to it I threw some fennel, sliced, in the oven with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. I added a little salt and pepper too. The fennel roasted for about 40 minutes. I also threw some red onion on the grill. Portobella mushroom burger with roasted fennel, grilled onions, and veganaise. Wow, it was fantastic!! I made sweet potatoes fries on the side which J absolutely loves and dandelion greens.

As for the dandelion greens, the hubby loved them. I, however, hated them. But, they are almost the best green out there for you so I ate them as fast as I could. Gross! If you like bitter go right ahead and give them a try.

Here’s some research about how good they are in case you want to give them a try.

**According to the USDA Bulletin #8, “Composition of Foods” (Haytowitz and Matthews 1984), dandelions rank in the top 4 green vegetables in overall nutritional value. Minnich, in “Gardening for Better Nutrition” ranks them, out of all vegetables, including grains, seeds and greens, as tied for 9th best. According to these data, dandelions are nature’s richest green vegetable source of beta-carotene, from which Vitamin A is created, and the third richest source of Vitamin A of all foods, after cod-liver oil and beef liver! They also are particularly rich in fiber, potassium, iron, calcium, magnesium, phosphorus and the B vitamins, thiamine and riboflavin, and are a good source of protein.

Great huh? Now you just have to get them done. I did it! Come on, you can too!! Lot’s of luck!

Portobella burger

2 Responses to “Guest Blogger: A House Full of Health”

  1. An Unrefined Vegan April 3, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    Wonderful, Marsha! You are RIGHT – vegan food is anything but boring!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Guest Blogger: A House Full of Health – Such a busy day! Testing! « - October 8, 2012

    […] – Marsha, author of the blog A House Full of Health. You can see her first post for VBU! here, second and third. Connect with her on Facebook, Twitter and of course her blog. Welcome back […]

Leave a Reply

