Guest Blogger: Tasty Vegan Ways – Rich Mushroom-Squash Risotto

10 Apr

I love having bloggers come back to post more from their fantastic blogs. Please welcome back Ray, writer of Tasty Vegan Files. Here she is explaining why she became vegan in her own words:

“I became a Vegan thanks to a classmate in college who one day during a speech informed the class about the many benefits of following a plant-based diet, after I heard what he said and saw how energized, strong, and healthy he looked I felt motivated to do the same. I truly thank him for showing me this amazing lifestyle, I feel awesome, and in four simple but meaningful words I can say I LOVE BEING VEGAN”


I had this dish at a really nice Vegan eatery here in New York City and it was one of the best things I’ve tasted; immediately my mind started to go through each and every one of the flavors and I decided to make it myself hoping to get a similar result AND I DID!! I should also tell you that this is my first time making risotto and I’m sure i’m doing it in a different way but this tastes amazing! Truly an explosion of flavors, hope you can try it out and if you do tell me how you liked it:)

Ingredients:
1 cup of diced butternut squash
1 cup of cooked brown rice
1 1/2 cup of non-dairy milk (I used almond milk)
1/2 cup of chopped bell pepper (either yellow or orange)
1/2 cup of chopped onion
2 garlic cloves (minced)
1/4 cup of wood ear mushrooms (sliced)
1/2 cup of mixed mushrooms ( I used shiitake, baby bella and oyster mushrooms)
1/4 cup of toasted sunflower seeds
Finely minced leek ( toasted) for garnish
1 1/4 tsp. of flour and 1 1/4 tsp. of water mixed together ( to get the sauce rich and creamy)
1/4 tsp. of paprika
1 tbsp. of dried parsley flakes
Tiny bit of red pepper
Salt and pepper as desired
Extra virgin olive oil

Instructions:
– Place a large non-stick pot over medium-high heat and add about 3 tablespoons of olive oil. Add the onion, peppers and garlic and let it brown for a couple of minutes until translucent. Season with paprika, parsley, red and black pepper and salt. Place the diced squash and
non-dairy milk, cover and let it cook for about 10 minutes over medium heat.
– While everything is cooking toast the pumpkin seeds ( I seasoned them with some paprika as well) and minced leeks in the oven for a few minutes moving them constantly so they don’t burn.
– After the 10 minutes have gone by add the mushroom blend, let it cook for about 7 minutes and add the flour mixture so that the sauce reaches the desired consistency, mix well for at least 2 minutes. Add the cooked brown rice, let it absorb all the flavors for at least 5 minutes and season with extra salt and pepper if needed.
– Finally serve and garnish with pumpkin seeds and leek ribbons
Serves 4
Here are a few links to the types of mushrooms I used:
Wood ear- http://www.flickr.com/photos/learnscope/4276327408/
Shiitake- http://0.tqn.com/d/gourmetfood/1/0/q/G/shiitake_van_robin.jpg
Baby bella- http://thumbs.dreamstime.com/thumblarge_584/12982890075C2jvn.jpg
Oyster- http://mushroomman.com.au/images/P/oyster-01.jpg

Here are Ray’s previous posts with VBU:
Warm Quinoa Salad
Vegan pizza

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

