Guest Blogger: Lucy’s Friendly Foods – Chocolate Earthquakes!

8 May

So exciting to see such different people making veganism their choice in life. Please welcome a new blogger to the VBU family – Lucy! She is the blogger of Lucy’s Friendly Foods. Here she is in her own words: “I am Lucy, a Cordon Bleu trained cook (including patisserie) who has turned to vegan friendly food as I’m a veggie and both my daughters are allergic to milk and eggs. I have been astounded at how vegan baking can surpass any preconceptions and be utterly delicious. This blog is letting me try new recipes all the time and let my daughters eat so they don’t feel they miss out. Once tried, there is no turning back from vegan baking.” Please follow Lucy on Twitter here. Welcome Lucy!

I love these cookies – they’re rich, chocolaty, soft and scrumptious! I had a brief time before having children when I wanted to start a cookie business and back then these were some of my absolute favourites. I’ve never been brave enough to attempt a dairy/egg free version before, but my recent baking successes spurred me on. In fact, they work pretty well (even if I say so myself), so now both daughters have ‘safe’ homemade cookies to take into school tomorrow. Minteos and Noreos to year 3, chocolate earthquakes to reception – hope they like them 🙂

Chocolate Earthquakes (dairy-free, egg-free, nut-free, soya-free, vegetarian, vegan)

makes about 24

  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup melted dairy-free spread
  • 2 tbsps golden syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup oat milk
  • 1 tbsp ground flaxseeds
  • 100g melted dairy-free chocolate
  • 250g plain flour
  • 2 tbsps cocoa powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • large pinch of salt
  • 1 cup of icing sugar to roll dough in

-Preheat oven to 180 degrees centigrade

– Sift the icing sugar onto a plate and set aside

– In a bowl mix the sugar, dairy-free spread, syrup, vanilla, oat milk, flax seeds and melted chocolate

– Sift in the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt. It should produce a soft dough

– Take teaspoons of mix and roll in the icing sugar

– Place on a lined baking sheet

– Bake for 12 minutes. Cool for a few minutes on the baking sheet before transferring to a wire rack.

– Best eaten straight away, or next day will do (invite people over or send into school/work!)

Leave a Reply

