BBQ Marinated Tempeh with Crunch

29 Jun

Once in a while, when I have a spot to fill I will use an Air Eater post. After all, I am a vegan blogger too and it’s funny how some readers on VBU! are not aware. It makes me feel like I have some kind of split personality in a way haha. Air Eater by day and VBU! by night! Muuuahahhaha! I digress. Here’s a post I wrote when I figured out how to use tempeh and make it gluten free AND satisfying. Please enjoy!

Seeing as my last attempt at tempeh was a disaster, this time I decided to do something fool proof, marinate it and coat it with something crispy for that awesome crunch.

I had the BBQ sauce left over from my Jackfruit “Pulled pork” recipe and marinated the tempeh over night in the sauce. I broke the square into four pieces. The next day around lunch time,  I took a plate flipped it at the 15 minute mark.

Here’s the before the oven shot:

Needless to say, I really enjoyed this and would totally make this again, plus I would suggest bringing this to a party or making it for guests. Really was satisfying and filling.

I went a little photo crazy here, but I really like the texture in the tempeh crust.

You can find my BBQ sauce recipe here. I basically threw in  ever spice that I had in the pantry. This time the sauce was ready quickly as I didn’t need to simmer it. It was really simple and quick, just the kind of recipe I enjoy and can make in a hurry. If it isn’t sweet enough for you, add some evaporated cane juice sugar, or regular sugar to taste.

So easy and tasty, for sure a people pleaser at any function.

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

