Guest Blogger: Life of a Vegan

18 Jul

Most of us discovered veganism in our late 20’s and even 30’s, our newest blogger VeggieGirl29, is starting early. Here she is in her own words, “I’m a Vegan teenager that has been vegan for 7 months now and vegetarian for three years. I feel like I open the eyes of the younger generation that wants to make the switch but their parents are against it. I also face the struggles in high school and being a teenager and being vegan as well. I feel like I open eyes.” Follow her on Twitter and her blog; please welcome VeggieGirl29!

So the other day, I was talking about my veganism and such. WELL, someone asked me if I believed in God. Obviously I said yes. They’re response was, “God put meat on this earth for humans to eat.”

Here’s my response to that:

First, greed is a deadly sin. How greedy certain people get about meat, gets kind of sickening. People kind of over do it on the whole meat thing. I saw someone eat a beef rib, a hamburger, a hot dog, and I think one other thing I couldn’t tell you. That is being to greedy and taking too much from animals.

Second, it has been proven that ANY organism shouldn’t be drinking other animals milk, humans shouldn’t after the age of two. We aren’t suppose to be having milk and cheese in our systems… So God didn’t give us that, we forced it upon ourselves.

Lastly, if God wanted me to eat meat so bad, wouldn’t I be in the hospital at this moment? I mean honestly, if eating meat was so good for me, wouldn’t I be getting sick? But isn’t it the other way around? Becoming vegan I have lowered my chances of getting heart disease incredibly and up my chances to fight diseases.

Sorry if I offended  anyone with this post, but I was offended with at response that man gave to me. If you are a vegan or a vegetarian out that, you are no less that anyone else just by what you eat.

With all my respect,

VeggieGirl

P.S. you can always ask me questions and follow me on Twitter @VeggieGirl29

 

7 Responses to “Guest Blogger: Life of a Vegan”

  1. Jacqueline July 18, 2012 at 10:04 am #

    Kudos to you VeggieGirl29 for being so brave and leading by example. I am 31 and my parents STILL resist my choices. They have backed off, and have even started adding veggie meals since I backed off on them and started leading by example. Good luck!

    • VeggieGirl (@VeggieGirl29) July 18, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

      Thank you so much for the kudos. My mom for the longest time disagreed my decision but she now accepts it. I hope your parents start accepting that you are not only caring about yourself, but Earth and all the organisms on it. (:

  2. Val July 18, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

    This is a beautiful post! I love the tie in with greed. If only I had been more inciteful as a teenager like you! I am also a vegan who believes in God. Christian to be specific.
    Will be following your blog from now on. Keep up the good work!

    • Veggie Girl July 18, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

      Thank you so much! I’ve been thinking about this topic a lot and I’m glad others agree with me (:

    • VeggieGirl (@VeggieGirl29) July 18, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

      Thank you so much, I’m glad I have supporters like you!!

  3. An Unrefined Vegan July 18, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

    Yay!!

  4. Marissa Rath (@MarissaRath) July 21, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

    I very much love this post – and you for being so brave with your opinions.
    I’m a christian & a vegan too 🙂

Leave a Reply

