Guest Blogger: Be Better, Not Bitter – Perfect Vegan Pancakes

19 Jul

Who doesn’t like pancakes? Rita, author of Be Better, Not Bitter, has decided to share with us her recipe for the Perfect Vegan Pancake. Here she is in her own words, “My name is Rita. A vegan lifestyle blogger who loves to cook. A London-based digital project manager. A cat mama and long-time girlfriend to my highschool sweetheart. Everywhere I go I’ll be making the most out of life and make sure to blog about it.” Please follow Rita on Twitter and check out her blog. Welcome Rita!

Every given Saturday or Sunday morning, me and the boyfriend put up an amazing breakfast just for the two of us. It has become our favorite weekend tradition – it ain’t weekend without pancakes.

Since we became vegan, I had to adapt my good old pancake recipe. As I hate following recipes, after two not-so-successful attempts, I finally mastered the most perfect pancakes with no need for eggs. I can assure you this gives them a nice fluffy inside while crispy on the outside, and they’re also super easy to make.

What you’ll need

For 2 people
1 cup plain white flour
2 tsp sugar
1 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup soy milk
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp xantan gum
2 Tbsp melted sunflower spread

Mix all the ingredients in a big bowl. I always melt the butter in a non-stick pan while doing it, which you can reuse for the pancakes, and add it at last to the batter. Let it heat for about 3 minutes.

Leave a tiny bit of butter in the frying pan, and put the batter in the pan until it covers all the surface. Remember you don’t have to use a huge amount of batter, a thin coat of 0,5 cm should be enough as it will rise.

Cook the pancakes until the bubbles on top start breaking then flip.

Stack the pancakes on the plates and add in your favorite toppings.

Maple syrup is a must. Peach soy yoghurt or vanilla custard are my favorites, especially when sprinkled with fresh strawberry chunks.

4 Responses to “Guest Blogger: Be Better, Not Bitter – Perfect Vegan Pancakes”

  1. Jodie July 19, 2012 at 11:02 am #

    I’ve never thought to use sunflower spread in pancake batter, what a great idea! I’m definitely going to try this. We’re also fans of a little special breakfast, best way to enjoy the weekend together. 🙂

  2. An Unrefined Vegan July 19, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    I totally agree, Rita: it ain’t the weekend without pancakes (or waffles)! We share the same tradition.

    • Somer July 22, 2012 at 12:13 am #

      Ha! Us too, I made pancakes this morning with some leftover green smoothie. Not the best I ever made, but it was pretty good 😉

  3. Marissa Rath (@MarissaRath) July 21, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

    Nom – I love pancakes.
    These sounds like an awesome recipe, and it different than all the other ones I’ve tried.
    I always make the smoke alarm go off when I make pancakes so wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

