Guest Blogger: The Vegan Version – Beet Salad, No Protein (?)

30 Aug

This is a first on VBU! For the first time we have a returning contributor that has four recipe posts and one blog review on VBU!; what a feat. I am very pleased to say this record belongs to Lee, author of The Vegan Version.   Here are her previous recipe posts: Stuffed Mushrooms recipeSweet Potato Turnovers and Sigara Borrek. Please join The Vegan Version‘s Facebook page, Twitter account and of course her blog. Welcome back Lee!

 

Greetings from New York City! I am in town for a few days attending the BlogHer ’12 conference with my dear friend JL of JL Goes Vegan and having a blast!

I got into town Thursday afternoon,  checked into my hotel and decided took astroll around Midtown. Oh, how I love New York!  I stopped in at a cute cafe for a quick bite. The beet salad sounded divine so I ordered it, “hold the cheese”.

The salad was not only beautiful, it was delicious! When finished, the waiter brought the check and I noticed it said “Beet Salad No Protein”.

What? No cheese means no protein? Hmmm… that doesn’t sound right, does it? A quick Google search  “back of the envelope” math revealed that my salad, without the cheese, contained about 8 grams of protein!

Per the standard calculation for recommended protein intake, someone my size requires 45 grams daily. That means that my little beet salad (“no protein”) actually contained almost 20 percent of my protein requirement for the day!

As a vegan, I am constantly bombarded with questions about how I can possibly get enough protein. It is unfortunate that there is such a misconception about protein, where it comes from and how much is needed. It is actually pretty easy to get your recommended daily allowance of protein, even without consuming animal products.

I think the next time someone asks me how I get my protein I am going to take that receipt out and walk them through my little math exercise!

How about you? How do you answer the protein question?
Lee Khatchadourian-Reese
Chief Blogger
The Vegan Version

9 Responses to “Guest Blogger: The Vegan Version – Beet Salad, No Protein (?)”

  1. The Savvy Sister August 30, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    “Where do you get your protein?”
    “The same place an 800 pound gorilla gets theirs…plants!”
    (After I said this I felt very fat in the pants I was wearing)

    • Vegan Version August 30, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

      Ha ha!! That is great, and truth to that too!

  2. Kinenchen August 30, 2012 at 10:24 am #

    Even my colleagues ask me this question from time to time. At least I can stare at them until they realize they’re having a temporary lapse of scientific thinking…

  3. Rachael (@rubbercowgirl) August 30, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    Here’s my answer to the protein question! http://rubbercowgirl.blogspot.com/2012/08/let-them-eat-kale-vegan-nutrition-101.html

  4. Debby Sunshine August 30, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    I answer the protein question with a question: How many people suffering from “kwashiorker?”(the medical term for protein deficiency) have you ever visited at the hospital?

    • Vegan Version August 31, 2012 at 11:16 am #

      That’s funny! I have never heard that term before!

  5. roughseasinthemed August 31, 2012 at 4:51 am #

    In the past I’ve pointed out that western people often have far too much protein in their diet and ask if they are aware of whether they getting the right balance of minerals and vitamins etc. That usually kills the conversation nicely as they haven’t a clue if their diet is well balanced.

    Sadly it’s often a trick question anyway, frequently followed by the trick question of ‘I bet your shoes are leather.’ Yawn.

Leave a Reply

