Guest Blogger: Fried Dandelions – Spiced Chocolate Pudding

17 Sep

Dessert is a great way to start off the week! Who doesn’t want to try a new pudding recipe on a Monday? Our news VBU! blogger is Sarah De la Cruz, she is the author of Fried Dandelions.

Here she is in her own words, “I am a wife to Irving, a busy mom to 18 month old David (pronounced in Spanish after my husband’s Dominican heritage…Da-veed), and oldest sister of a big family! I am a former graphic designer and high school art teacher, and now enjoy cooking as my creative outlet. I follow a vegan diet and love to surprise people who are enjoying my food by saying ‘and its vegan too!’

I started this blog because I am notorious for changing recipes on the fly, and then forgetting the changes I made. Irving has helped me to start this because he wanted a way to track my recipes so he could request his favorites again and again!

I am lucky to have a husband who is an adventurous eater, and a son who is a good napper, giving me a window every afternoon to play in the kitchen. I hope that you will find some recipes here that your family enjoys as much as mine!” Please follow Sarah’s cooking adventures through her blog and Facebook page. Welcome Sarah!

Spiced Chocolate Pudding

People are often surprised when I tell them that dark chocolate is vegan! Thank goodness, because I really love my chocolate. Turns out that my son does too!

The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree. David, 2012. Me, 1980.

Growing up, my mom prepared an after school snack for us every day. Now that I’m not in school or teaching anymore, the afternoons tend to be divided into “David’s napping” or “David’s awake” and snacks are usually munched on the go. But tomorrow one of my good teacher friends is going to stop by after school. An after school snack is in order!

I’ve been thinking an awful lot about chocolate pudding lately, so I thought I would take a stab at a vegan version. Arming myself with some quick internet and cookbook research, I set out to make Spiced Chocolate Pudding. So glad I did…this stuff is amazing!

Chocolate happiness

Coconut milk mixed with cornstarch forms the base of this pudding. Cinnamon, cayenne, and vanilla deepen the flavor, and the chocolate adds richness. Let chill for a few hours and you are ready to serve yourself a bowl of chocolate amazingness! I served mine on a bed of ginger snap crumbs and topped with coconut whipped cream…delicious!

layers of flavor

Spiced Chocolate Pudding

3 cups coconut milk, divided
1/4 cup cornstarch
1/3 cup sugar
1 T. cinnamon
pinch of cayenne pepper, optional
1 cup vegan chocolate chips
Pinch salt
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

simple ingredients come together for amazing flavor

Pour 1 c. coconut milk into a heavy bottomed sauce pan and add cornstarch. Whisk together until all cornstarch is dissolved and there are no more lumps. Add in the remaining 2 c. of coconut milk, sugar, cinnamon, salt, and cayenne (if using). Turn stove on to medium high heat and continue whisking as the mixture comes up to a boil. Once it boils turn down the heat to an occasional boil. Add chocolate chips and continue whisking as they melt and the mixture thickens, about 5 minutes. Remove from heat, stir in vanilla, and let cool for just a minute or two. Then pour the pudding into a storage container and place a piece of plastic wrap directly onto the pudding (touching) to prevent a “skin” from forming.

Chill in the refrigerator for 3 hours or more before serving.

Serving suggestion: While the pudding is delicious on its own, I served it like a parfait. I made cookie crumbs by quickly food processing gingersnap cookies.

I then put a scoop of the crumbs in a dish, topped with pudding, and finally a dollop of coconut whipped cream with a sprinkle of cinnamon. To die for!

4 Responses to “Guest Blogger: Fried Dandelions – Spiced Chocolate Pudding”

  1. An Unrefined Vegan September 17, 2012 at 11:16 am #

    Ooooh, this looks scrumptious! Even with a face covered in pudding, David is a beautiful boy!

  2. Jim Baskin September 17, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    Gluten and dairy free makes desert difficult. I am looking forward to trying this out.. 🙂

  3. Sarah September 17, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

    Thank you! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

  4. R Taylor September 18, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    My husband and I love spicy food so this is definitely a must try for us. Thank you for sharing your recipe!

Leave a Reply

