Guest Blogger: *Vegan Sparkles* – Whole Roasted Tandoori Cauliflower & Naan Wrap

15 Oct

Please welcome back a VBU! veteran. You can search her posts under her blog name Vegan Sparkles. The lovely Rebecca from down under. Feel free to check out her: blog, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Welcome back Bex!

Happy Vegan MoFo, everyone!

I’m so excited, I’m kicking off with not one but two recipes for you!  * Cue sparkles! *

Recently I spotted some incredibly creative ideas via My New Roots’ Whole Roasted Tandoori Cauliflower and Veg Hot Pot’s Tandoori Cauliflower Naan Wrap.  Tandoori Cauliflower??  I was so intrigued, I knew I had to try it immediately.

Someday I’ll make the amazing spice blend that My New Roots wrote about but in keeping with the ‘fast, fresh and simple’ VeganMoFo theme I promised, I went the quicky route and used a store-bought Tandoori paste and adapted as so:

Tandoori Marinade
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp minced ginger
  • 3-4 tbsp Tandoori paste
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 270ml can coconut cream
Tandoori Roasted Cauliflower
  • Mix all marinade ingredients together and cover a clean cauliflower completely.  Allow cauliflower to marinate in the fridge for at least one hour.
  • Preheat oven to 180C and roast cauliflower until tender.  My cauliflower had an extraordinarily large head so it took about an hour.

TA-DA!  The finished product!

I tandoori roasted a cauliflower!  I got excited.  *happy dance*

SO tasty and fun to make and it made an incredible meal paired with steamed Basmati Rice, Cucumber Raita and Coriander ‘Butter’ Beans.

Now it may be a year since I’ve tasted yoghurt but if I’m not mistaken, this concoction tastes incredibly like the real thing:

Cucumber Raita
  • 1 1/4 cup cashews, raw
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1 small Lebanese cucumber, diced
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

While the cauliflower is roasting (for an hour or so), add cashews, water and lemon juice to blender and allow to soak.  Blend until smooth and creamy.  Remove from blender and stir in diced cucumber and salt.

Coriander ‘Butter’ Beans

In a large frypan, sauté green beans in a little vegan margarine until gently cooked.  Add coriander and stir well.  Season with salt and pepper and serve.

Tandoori Cauliflower & Cucumber Raita Wraps

Then for the best part – for your delicious lunch the next day, simply heat leftover cauliflower in a frypan (with a little EVOO and some more Tandoori paste if you dare!) and serve in Silverbeet leaf wraps topped with Cucumber Raita, salad, rice and fresh coriander.

Fast, fresh and simple!  And did I mention deeeelish?

3 Responses to “Guest Blogger: *Vegan Sparkles* – Whole Roasted Tandoori Cauliflower & Naan Wrap”

  1. Somer October 15, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    The cauliflower brain strikes again!

  2. roughseasinthemed October 15, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

    I do a different cauli recipe (on my pages under recipes Indian) which is tomato and almond stuffing. But what intrigues me here is the cashew raita recipe. Will def be trying that out 🙂

  3. emmycooks October 15, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    Everything here looks so delicious! And I love how impressive it is to roast a whole cauliflower. Especially a huge one! 🙂

Leave a comment